Winter Melon?

So sorry for the long delay in posting- my wordpress has been acting funky and I couldn’t post photos until today.  But now I am officially back in business.   I’ve got some catching up to do.

A few weekends ago, my family was invited to hang out at T’s place- a sort of meet and greet.  It was awesome- so much amazing food, not to mention stellar company.  I must have gained a bit of a reputation for being a foodie, because one of T’s uncles brought me a homegrown WINTER MELON!  Apparently, he grows tons of these big green baby’s around his house.  They must be a hearty veggie to survive the cold temps as of late.

I’ve never cooked a winter melon before.  I was a little hesitant at first, because T absolutely hates bitter melon, and there was some confusion as to whether there was a difference between these two veg.  There is!  Bitter melon is smaller, looks like a very wrinkled cucumber and tastes quite bitter.  T has horrible memories of eating bitter melon- I’ve never tried but his aversion definately makes me curious.  On the other hand, winter melon is anything but bitter.  It looks like a watermelon, has the texture of honeydew and tastes mildly like zucchini.  I had never tried winter melon before and wasn’t sure what to do with it.  Google search suggested soup, but I’m a strong believer in the following kitchen mantra-when in doubt, make curry.

I started by chopping up the star of the show.

Then I chopped the rest of the veggies, some garlic and onion and got my spices ready to roll.

I got down to business by heating some olive oil in my pan and frying the curry powder on its own to sweat out all the yummy curry flava. Then I added garlic and onion and fried over medium until the onions were translucent.

Then I added the rest of the veggies and spices to the mix.  I stir-fried, partially covered for about 20 mins until the melon was tender and the entire batch had turned a sweet mustardy yellow.  I love the colour of curries, don’t you?

This was so, so good.  I think I’m in love with winter melon!  Seriously, it was the best curry I’ve ever made.  You must try  it.

What is that peeking out of my curry delight?  It’s a slice of homemade socca bread!  And I’ll be posting more about it later.

Keep it warm and spicy until next time.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Melon?

  1. Karen says:

    Hi Jill! This is Karen. Great meeting you and your fam bam 🙂 I think this is a very good idea for winter melon because I’ve only had it in soup. :] Very nom nom nom!! =)

Leave a Reply

