Long Weekend Hits and Misses

I’m avoiding using the term Thanksgiving on purpose because, well, colonialism is poop. And I don’t like spreading poop around, pretending I don’t know anything about where it comes from.  He, he, he.

I may not be into “celebrating” Thanksgiving, but I do like long weekends, spending time with family and pie.  And I especially like all three of these things together.

T and I didn’t really see our families much this weekend due to extreme workload issues, however we did try to stuff our faces with as much fall bounty as possible to make up for it.

There were some hits and misses in my kitchen this weekend.

Let’s start with a miss.  I cannot bake pie to save my own life. I always thought it was the crust that eluded me, but I proved myself wrong yesterday when I bought pre-made pie crusts and still managed to mess it all up.

Here’s what I did.

I took a pre-made spelt crust out of my freezer and unwrapped it.  So far so good. Then I sliced up some apples (half from T’s mom’s tree!) and put the sliced apples in a bowl.  I added agave syrup, lemon juice and cinnamon, mixed it all together and poured the mixture into the pie crusts.

Looks good, no?

Then I decided to get a little fancy.  I mixed about 1/2 cup of oats with 2 Tbsp of melted Earth Balance butter, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of cane sugar.  I crumbled the crumble onto the pie, and began to strut about thinking I had finally conquered my pie problem for good.

I baked my pie in the oven at 350 degrees until the apples were softened, and the crust was golden.  It looked good and smelled even better.

I let it cool- this took patience and willpower.  Finally I cut into it, expecting a perfectly lovely slice of apple pie to appear on my plate.  Instead, I got this:

A pile of gooey apple mess.  It in no way resembled a slice.  Fail.  Another attempt gone wrong. Sigh.

It wasn’t a total loss- it still tasted good which appeased me enough to eat the entire apple pie mess in less than 2 days. I may have allowed T to grab a “slice” or two as well.

Thankfully, my lack of pie-making skills does not extend to ice cream cake versions of holiday favourites.

A friend custom-ordered a cake from my online store for her family get together.  I made her a vanilla pumpkin pie ice cream cake.  It turned out quite spectacularly, if I do say so myself.  Here it is, all topped with vegan caramel sauce:

Hubba bubba.  I wanted to steal a slice for myself, but that would be terrible customer service.  I also made a half dozen mini ice cream cupcakes for another customer who wanted to impress his vegan sister.

The goodies included a vanilla pumpkin pie, vanilla chai, chocolate almond, mocha cappucino, and chocolate, with peanut butter and banana.

I had a lot of fun drizzling the hot fudge and caramel on top. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Anyway, I’ve got a few new recipes (that did not fail) for the blog this week.  It’s a bit of a time management struggle these days, but I am going to find a way to make it all work.

Enjoy the short and sweet week everyone.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Weekend Hits and Misses

  1. That ice cream cake looks unbelievable! Have you considered sending a business proposal to Baskin Robbins or Dairy Queen? They would be smart to take on a vegan option for their customers. A tip: for the apple pie if you ever decide to try a pie again 🙂 in a bowl mix brown sugar, cinnamon, vegan margarine and some cornstarch and toss with your apples. This should help keep the filling more solid so that when it cools, it slices better. Maybe slice your apples thinner too 🙂 but it looked yummy nonetheless

    • madebyjill says:

      Ahhhhhh, yes. The old, slice the apples thinner trick. I suspected that was one of the problems. Thanks for the tips 🙂 As for the business proposal, I’m flattered. But they are the big league, and I am the little freezer that could. At least for now. Thanks for reading and commenting- hearing from you always makes my day!

  2. Don’t sell yourself short! Mcdonalds bought their lowfat muffin recipe from a stay at home mom. She doesn’t know what to do with all of her money now 🙂

Leave a Reply

