Nutrient Punch in the Face

The other day I was thinking that I should really try to get more seaweed into my diet, because it is so healthy- especially for vegans.  But the truth is, I’m not crazy about the stuff.  I used to eat nori all the time, but I overdosed on veggie sushi last year and now I try to avoid it at all costs.  I don’t really know what happened, I just kind of stopped liking it.  I feel really lame admitting that I kind of dislike seaweed, being a health nut extraordinaire and all, but I can’t help it.  It’s texture and flavour is all wrong for me.  

I decided to just force myself to give it another try, using arame. I used to eat a lot of seaweed salads made with arame and because it is a milder sea vegetable, I figured that I might be able to stomach it once again.

I decided to try to hide the seaweed a little bit by burying it in a huge bunch of greens. I had a huge bunch of fresh organic kale in my fridge that was calling my name, along with an unopened jar of pickled ginger.   I figured I’d give a kale and seaweed salad a try.   

I’m so glad I did.  It was delicious!  Not seaweed-y at all.  And the best part about eating it was that it was so chalk full of vitamins and minerals, it was basically like getting punched in the face with nutrients.  

Here’s the recap and recipe.

Kale Seaweed Salad 

Ingredients

  • 1 head of kale, washed and destemmed
  • 1/2 cucumber, julienned
  • 1 carrot, julienned
  • 1/2 C arame, soaked and rinsed
  • 2 T pickled ginger, or to taste
  • Seeds of choice for garnish

Sesame Ginger Dressing

  • 2 T tamari
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1-2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1.5 T agave or maple syrup

First soak the arame in water for 20 minutes, rinse well and repeat.  I like to repeat soak it because it removes the “fishy” taste.  

Next make the dressing.

 Massage the dressing into the kale leaves until they are well coated.  Then add the cucumber, carrot and arame.

Finally, serve in a bowl topped with pickled ginger and sprinkled with seeds of choice (I used hemp seeds).

This salad was so good and easy to make, I’m thinking about adding it to the weekly rotation.  I may have found the secret to consuming more seaweed- hide it.  

Let me know if any other seaweed-avoiders out there give this a try.  Have a great Saturday!

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

