Veggie Food Fair!

On Saturday I checked out the TVA’s annual Vegetarian Food Fair.  I love this event so much, and look forward to it every year.  This year was numero four for me.  What can I say?  It’s a vegan foodie paradise. Exhibitors hand out lots of free samples, so I basically grazed my way into a very affordable (read: free) lunch.  It was a perfect day for being outside- sunny and not too hot.  It was nice to relax surrounded by a giant community of veg enthusiasts.  Here’s a play-by-play of the day’s events.

T and I headed down on our bikes mid-afternoon.  After parking our wheels and a short, anticipatory walk later I spied the first signs of the fest

and was very happy. Yay!  

The first booth I visited was non-edible, but still very exciting-Ella’s Naturals

I LOVE Ella’s products, especially her soaps!  The Cafe Latte and Almond Scrub smell out-of-this-world.  I’m not going to lie- I’ve been tempted to taste them, they smell so scrumptious.

I felt like such a star-struck fan when I introduced myself to Ella herself!  I am currently stocked with soaps so I refrained from making any purchases, but it was great to meet the person responsible for making my bathroom smell so yummy.

Next, we stopped by the New Moon Kitchen booth. 

New Moon Kitchen make my favourite packaged vegan cookies. I love their cookies because they are made locally, with spelt flour and all-natural ingredients, and they taste amazing.  We bought some of the Bite Me Seed and Raisin flavour.  It was hard not to buy more. 

We couldn’t take the hunger any longer and we headed to theOne Love Vegetarian booth for some of their infamous corn soup. 

Gotta love the chunk of cob in every bowl.  T sure did.

We ate our soup amongst the veggie-loving crowd on the astroturf lawn?  Why astroturf Harbourfront?  Regardless, it was pretty nice.  

Soon enough, we were joined by two of my favourite people- Sister J and Sister B

They came armed with cobs of their own.

One of the best reasons to go to the Food Fair is to take advantage of the deals.  Most exhibitors offer special prices for the Fair, and you can save a lot if you know what you’re looking for.  I confess- I went to the Food Fair with a definite mission. I wanted to come home with some Vega.  I freaking love Vega Whole Food Optimizer.

I never thought that I would get into protein powders, especially considering the fact I’ve spent my entire vegan life telling others that protein is over-consumed and overrated. But recently I’ve had a bit of a change of heart. Mostly this change is a result of attempting to avoid most soy products, and a new boxing regime which has led me to consider fueling my body in new ways.  Regardless, I’ve dabbled in hemp protein and rice protein but absolutely nothing else I’ve tried even comes close to the deliciousness of Vega.  And, it’s nutrient profile is off-the-charts.  So. Incredibly. Great.  I was pretty stoked to walk away with a jar of Vanilla Chai, just for me. 

I was stoked once more when I spied the Chocosol booth.  They are another fabulous local company specializing in RAW CHOCOLATE and fair trade, organic coffee.  Not to mention the fact that they are just so darn cute.  Check it out:

We left their booth with two bags of coffee.  We couldn’t resist. 

Our last stop before we left for the day was the Ruby Ranch Pig Sanctuary

They were selling vegan piggy shortbread cookies!  They are such an amazing organization.  It just melts my heart to hear about the ways in which people dedicate their lives to showing compassion for animals.  

Anyways, the Fair was well worth the trip.  This year seemed a little smaller than last year, but I cannot complain.  I left very content and satisfied.  

I only wish I didn’t have to wait a whole year until next time.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

