Rice and Bean Burgers

Recently I discovered that the brand of frozen veggie burgers I’ve loved for years has been duping me.  According to their package, they are “made with organic ingredients”.  Now those of you who are adept at reading food labels will probably already know what seemed to escape my attention- that “made with” simply means that there is at least one organic ingredient involved.  Not necessarily the majority of ingredients, or even more than one.  In this case, the particular burgers I’m speaking about are made with organic lemon juice.  But the soy, veggies and all of the main ingredients are not organic.  Gee, thanks for squeezing a drop of organic juice in there.  

How did I miss this?  I’ve read Michael Pollan, Marion Nestle and listened to Dr. Oz’s overly dramatic lectures that begin with, “this information could save your life!”. I consider myself to be somewhat of an expert when it comes to food label reading.  

It must have been denial?  

Regardless, I’ve been moping around for the past couple weeks trying to figure out what to replace my beloved veggie burgers with.  They are such a good last minute meal!  Arg!  I haven’t been able to find any other frozen product cheap enough, or tasty enough to fit the bill.  

So, last weekend I finally threw my hands up and decided to do it myself. On Sunday I went into burger prep mode.  I figured the only way homemade veggie burgers could be as convenient as store-bought ones is if they are made in giant batches and frozen for later.  And that’s why I made 2 dozen of these bad boys.  It took about half of my afternoon, but I’m pretty pleased with the results. 

First, I made Dreena Burton’s Chickpea Sensation Patties from Eat Drink and Be Vegan.  They looked great, and I quickly wrapped and froze them for a rainy day.  Sorry, no pics of these.  😦

Then I was inspired to create my own version.  I had some black beans and left-over brown rice on hand, so I decided to make a rice and bean version.  The results were amazing!  Sorry Dreena, but I liked my burgers better!  

Rice and Black Bean Burgers (inspired by Dreena Burton)

  • 2 C black beans
  • 2 C cooked brown rice
  • 3/4 C oatmeal
  • 1/3 C corn 
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 T tamari
  • 1/4 C tomato paste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Start by preheating the oven to 350.

1. Heat the olive oil in a pan, add the onions and corn and saute until the onion is translucent.

2. Combine the black beans, garlic, tamari, tomato paste, rice, chili pepper and salt and pepper in a food processor and blend. Then add the corn and onions and blend again.

3. Add the rice and bean mixture to the oatmeal in a bowl.  Mix it all together.

4. Form patties and lay them on a sheet of parchment paper.  

I made 12 patties!  

5. Bake your burgers for about 15 mins, flip them and keep ’em baking for about 10 more minutes.  

Lovely.  Nothing left to do, but sample the goods.

This recipe is a keeper.  These were so yummy.  Kind of southwest-y.  I can’t wait to throw a couple on the BBQ, slathered with BBQ sauce.

Take THAT cheap store-bought burgers.  I’ve found a way to replace you.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rice and Bean Burgers

  1. These look delish! and I totally agree that we constantly get duped into buying products because of false advertising. The only solution is to educate yourself and fool the foolers….like you have 🙂 Home made veggie burgers are the best and now I have a new recipe – Thanks!

    • madebyjill says:

      I totally agree about staying informed. But it puts average consumers who aren’t completely obsessed with food (like yours truly) in a really unfair position. Grrrrrrrrrrr

      But hurray for veggie burgers! I hope you enjoy them (We’ve already ploughed through 6!).

Leave a Reply

