Sniffles, Smoothies and Soup

Two weeks of non-stop work and very little sleep was bound to catch up with me.  And it has.  In the form of a brutal cold.  My throat is so sore right now, all I can think about is eating popsicles.  

Unfortunately for me, we are fresh out of frozen pops :(. Fortunately, we do have the the makings of the next best thing- smoothies. 

After triumphing over the part of my brain that was trying to convince me to give up and stay in bed all day, I stumbled into the kitchen to make myself a morning glass of what I hope will be my cold salvation.

I happened to find half of a perfectly sweet cantaloup sitting in our fridge, beckoning me with it’s promise of vitamin C.  I blended that bad boy up with some almond milk and ice and it may have been just what the doctor ordered.   

Recipe:

Cantaloup Shake

1/2 cantaloup

1 C almond milk

6 ice cubes

Blend away!

I am off to do nothing all day long in hopes of combatting my cold in time for the first day of school.  My action plan involves approximately 5 hours of uninterrupted couch surfing followed by soup-making, and finished off with more couch surfing.  I hope you find yourself in better shape than poor pathetic me. Feel free to leave me pity comments below.  I always appreciate pity freebies.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

