A Giant Announcement

I’m starting this long overdue post with some of this:

Mainly to ensure you keep reading.  Please, do it will be worth it I promise.

Well, I’ve been an absentee blogger recently because there has been a lot going on.  I’ve been getting ready for my students, setting up shop for a new school year.  But more importantly, something I’ve been working on behind the scenes for a while now has finally been put into action.

I am so excited to unveil this project of mine, and I hope that you check it out and let me know what you think.

I’ve wanted to start my own food-related business forever. Part of me has always been interested in entrepreneurship- I just love the idea of creating something unique and being my own boss.  I’ve toyed around with different ideas over the years, but none of them led anywhere serious.  That is, until recently.

Keep reading, you’re getting closer.

It all started over a year ago, when I tasted the most delicious ice cream in New York at Lulu’s Sweet Apothecary. It was so exciting to be able to go into an ice cream shop and order a hot fudge sundae, with whipped cream and peanuts!  I hadn’t had one of those for years! It got me thinking about how vegans in general tend to cherish the food items that they don’t normally have access to.

I came back from New York determined to re-create Lulu’s delicious ice cream to the best of my ability.  I had inquired about the ingredients when I was in the shop, and the very helpful staff were happy to tell me that they use raw cashews as a base.

After many trial and error attempts, and countless bags of raw nuts, I managed to get the hang of it.  I’ve been making (almost) raw vegan ice cream ever since, and it is pretty yummy if you don’t mind me saying.

This naturally led me to experiment with other frozen novelties.  I tried my hand at ice cream sandwiches, soft-serve, fudgesicles and even ice cream cakes.  I was surprised when my friends and family started encouraging me to think about selling my creations.

I finally had my idea.

And, I’m finally getting a chance to blog about it because I launched my own little online vegan ice cream shop last Sunday evening!  I am super pumped, and totally scared but it is all worth it.  It’s called Cakes By Jill because I’m focusing on ice cream cakes. I can’t think of a more exciting birthday or special occasion treat for a vegan.

Go on over and check it out here.

I’m working on a new site and will have pay pal up and running shortly.  Slow and steady is my motto at this point.

In the meantime, it is my pleasure to leave you with some drool-worthing eye candy (c0mpliments of my sister, B, the budding photographer).

Enjoy!

Raspberry Vanilla Ice Cream Cupcake

Minty Chocolate Ice Cream Sammies

Chocolate Elvis Ice Cream Cake (peanut butter, banana, chocolate)

Mocha Latte Ice Cream Cupcake

I’ll be back to my regularly scheduled blogging on the weekend. Stay tuned for the recipe for what may have been the best french toast I’ve ever had. It’s up next.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Giant Announcement

  1. Tina says:

    Congrats on taking that step! All of it looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

