Brown Bagging It

Goodbye summer vacation.  It is back-to-school time for me.  I went into my classroom for the first time yesterday to start getting set-up for my new class.  I love teaching.  It’s a creative, fulfilling, active and challenging job.  Having summers off is pretty much priceless.  Although once I added up all the extra time I spend working at home during my “off-hours”, and when I crunched all the numbers I discovered that I get paid about $10.00 an hour.  Still, I love my job and I know that is a rare thing indeed.  I am not complaining, trust me.

My school is a little out of the way, and there aren’t a lot of options for vegan lunches in my neighborhood.  Which means that I am a devoted brown-bagger. I bring my lunch to school everyday, just like my Grade Two and Three students.

I’m a terribly predictable luncher.  I usually eat some variation of salad, with protein of some sort for satiety.  Get ready to see a lot of lunches-to-go on my blog in the near future.  Perhaps writing this blog will inspire me to make some daring new things!  I certainly hope so, for all of our sakes.

Here’s the quick little lunch I whipped up for my first day back:

A simple green salad with some bell peppers, tomato and the star of the show- homemade cumin herb hummus.  The hummus was good, but I think the recipe needs a few tweaks, which are outlined below.

Cumin Herb Hummus

2 C chick peas

3 Tbsp tahini (1 more Tbsp would have been perfect I think, as it wasn’t creamy enough)

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1/2 tsp salt

1 clove garlic (I would add more next time)

1 tsp cumin

1/4 C fresh parsley, or other herb of choice

Water to blend

Blend all ingredients in a food processor until desired consistency is reached.

I dressed my salad with some tahini dressing (unpictured), and it made a great lunch alongside of some fresh fruit.

I love eating big salads for lunch.  There’s something so satisfying about crunching all that fresh green goodness midday.  And of course, salads make an excellent portable brown bagged meal.

Well folks, time for me to unwind and get ready for a killer workshop tomorrow.  Stay tuned for more info about an exciting event I’m hosting this coming Sunday.  🙂

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brown Bagging It

  1. Nicole says:

    Salad and hummus are favourites of mine, too! Good luck with the new school year!

  2. Tina says:

    I used to teach and loved it. I left to stay at home with my daughter because after crunching numbers, like you, it wouldn’t have been worth the effort and time away from family for what I made. I tutor now to still get a bit of that teacher feeling though. It is amazing to see changes in students.

    • madebyjill says:

      I know! I love when you’re working with a student and the “light bulb” magically turns on. It’s so motivating! Good for you for prioritizing your family. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

