When the Going Get’s Tough, I Get Brunch

After a very long and tiring four days of non-stop renovations, I can finally see a light at the end of the tunnel.  And it’s coming from my kitchen. That’s right, chez Jill is back in business, with a fully operational light, fridge and dishwasher!  

I am so relieved.  As much as I’ve enjoyed waking up early every day on my last real week of summer vacation to a soundtrack of repair not unlike the Blue Man Group, I’m looking forward to a sleepy morning tomorrow.  Do not call me before 11am.  I will not pick up.  I am a sleep-deprived woman on a mission. 

It hasn’t been all bad. 

As the title of this post hints, I know how to cheer myself up in times of renovation trouble.  I get myself some brunch at my favourite little veggie cafe in Toronto.  It’s called Hibiscus, and is located in Kensington Market.  

It’s a little tucked away, but now that you know what to look for, you shouldn’t have a problem. 

I’ve been brunching here for the past two years.  It has a simple little menu of vegan crepes that are made from buckwheat flour!  You can order both sweet and savory crepes.  I’ve lost my mind over the tomato, spinach, mushroom, walnut crepe with vegan pesto.  It’s to die for. Really.

But my go-to order is the soup and salad special.  It’s a hearty and uber healthy lunch that will keep you going for hours.

The salad is a giant bowl, filled to the brim with a variety of different salads including quinoa, green beans, marinated tofu, beans, broccoli and avocado, marinated shredded beets and sweet potato!

 Wowsa’s. 

Their soup is incredible too!  It’s usually a pureed root veggie soup- T is enjoying a mug of squash soup below. 

They also have an amazing selection of sweets.  For awhile I couldn’t even walk through the Market without stopping for one of these:

A strawberry smoothie that could be more appropriately described as a strawberry milkshake. 

The best part escaped my stunning photography skills- the desserts! The lovely people at Hibiscus hand-make a huge variety of vegan, gluten-free desserts.  My favourite is by far the peanut butter chocolate squares. I am salivating right now.  

Anyways, I thought I should let you all in on the Hibiscus secret.  It’s such a perfectly charming little vegetarian cafe, you really should give it a go. 

See you tomorrow with another Friday Favourite post!

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the Going Get’s Tough, I Get Brunch

  1. Jess Toombs says:

    I was fully going to ask you to brunch date with me at Hibiscus on Saturday! Your love has infected me and now all I want is Hibiscus Salad Bowl. All day. Every day.

Leave a Reply

