Chaotic Times

Hey all,

Today’s post is going to be a quickie.  Things are upside down in my apartment.  I don’t want to bore you with all the details, but- oh who am I kidding.  I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to blog about it.

Last week a five-by-four foot chunk of our very old, and very heavy plaster ceiling fell beside us while we were sleeping in our bedroom.  It landed on our drying rack and bent the METAL legs, so we were very relieved that luck appeared to have been on our side.  Poor little rack.

Yesterday the contractors began to work on it.  The good news is that we are getting a new ceiling.  The bad news is that we had to move all of our bedroom furniture into our living room, kitchen and office.  I am writing this post from bed, in the living room, surrounded by drawers. We’ve managed to leave a narrow walking path leading from one side of the apartment to the other.  It’s fine until we both try to go somewhere at the same time. 🙂

Want to hear the really bad news?  Amidst all the ceiling repairs in our bedroom, the electricity on one side of the kitchen decided it was going to quit, leaving our main light and our fridge without power.  

While I began to have a unsightly and melodramatic meltdown, T had the good sense to run an outdoor extension cord to our kitchen to save the food in our fridge from spoiling.

As I write this, there are 2 contractors in our bedroom replacing our ceiling, an electrician in our kitchen investigating the mystery that caused the outage and T and I on our respective computers, surrounded by bedroom furniture.

Good times, good times.

So, um I haven’t really been making much in terms of blog-worthy food in the past two days.  Unless you all want to see the two bowls of cereal I ate for dinner last night?  No?

Ok then- sticking with the general theme of chaos, I thought I’d let you all take a peek into my fridge.  I took this picture sometime last week, when T was attempting to find the peanut butter to no avail.  He kept yelling for help, and in response I rolled my eyes and walked very huffily into the kitchen and gave him the old, “why don’t you try looking for it?” response.  And then he showed me this

And that pretty much put me in my place.  Our fridge is a ridiculously chaotic place with un-labelled jars of random things as far as the eye can see.  Kind of like the rest of our apartment right now.

What do you mean, you can’t find the peanut butter T?

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chaotic Times

  1. you lover diamond says:

    awww… jilly… sorry your apartment is so chaotic right now! good thing T is so relaxed even in chaos 🙂 i truly hope that your apartment gets fixed soon so that you can get back to cooking me treats!!!

Leave a Reply

