Baba Ganouj Quinoa Patties with Mint Tahini

I’m very excited to share the following dish with you.  

It came about after I saw this post on my new friend Ricki’s blog.  She co-hosts a Sweet or Savoury Recipe Challenge, centered around a different theme ingredient each month.  

If you are interested you can read about the official “rules” on her blog, but in a nutshell you can use any recipe (as long as you cite the source) that is free from meat, dairy, white flour and sugar.  I decided I couldn’t resist, and got to work in my kitchen armed with a bunch of this month’s feature ingredient- MINT!  Yummers.

I LOVE middle eastern food, and couldn’t think of a better cuisine to work with for this challenge.  I also impulsively picked this up at the fruit market recently, and it turned out to be a perfectly timed, albeit, a little odd-looking purchase:

How could I not buy this?  It was such a creepy little guy- like a real baby with arms!  

Anyways, my entry for this month’s SOS challenge is inspired by falafels. I wanted to put my own spin on this classic dish and what I came up with was a quinoa patty, made with baba ganouj and topped with a mint tahini sauce.  It was pretty delish, if you want to know the truth.  Here’s the recipe:

Baba Ganouj Quinoa Patties with Minted Tahini Sauce

I made the baba ganouj using my all time favourite recipe found here on Fat Free Vegan.

Patty Ingredients

2 C quinoa, cooked in veggie broth and cooled

1 garlic clove

1/2 C homemade baba ganouj

3 T fresh parsley

3 T fresh mint

3 T ground flaxseed

1/2 tsp salt

1 T nutritional yeast

2 T lemon juice

4 T sunflower seeds

1 tsp cumin

Pepper, to taste

Mint Tahini Sauce Ingredients

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 C fresh mint, chopped

1/2 tsp salt

3 T lemon juice

2/3- 1 C water (depending on how thick you like your sauce)

1/2 C tahini

Directions

1. Rinse 1 C quinoa well and put it into a pot with 2 C of water or veggie broth.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer covered, until the quinoa is done.

2. Place the quinoa along with all other ingredients into a bowl and mix well.  

3. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. While your oven is heating, form patties (I made about 7) and place on an oiled or parchment-lined baking sheet.  

4. Bake for 20 mins, flip (carefully, they’re a little crumbly) and continue baking for another 10 mins or until desired crispiness is achieved 🙂

5. While the patties are baking, make the mint tahini sauce.  Simply place all ingredients into a blender, and blend until smooth and creamy. 

6. Top the patties with mint tahini sauce, and serve them on their own, in a pita, over a salad or however else you like.

I served mine straight up, with a side salad (which was also drenched drizzled in tahini).  But I think these would be even better stuffed in a pita, with a little hummus on the side. 

Hope you all like my minty dish.  Can’t wait to see what the SOS theme for September is!

Question for my readers- What is the difference between baba ganouj and baba ganoush?  Are they the same thing, spelled differently?  I have always spelled/said ganoush, until I re-read the recipe that I linked to and got paranoid that I was uninformed.  Help me out here!  Leave your comments below.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baba Ganouj Quinoa Patties with Mint Tahini

  1. Ricki says:

    Yum, yum, and yum! Every part of this dish sounds phenomenal! As another fan of Middle Eastern eats, I cannot wait to try this. Adding the mint to the sauce is such a great idea! Thanks so much for entering the challenge this month, and with such a great recipe 😀

    PS I think baba ganouj and ganoush are the same thing, spelled differently. . . that’s what I’m assuming, anyway! 😉

  2. Yahoo Answers are loved by Google and many of the Yahoo Answers are sitting on high ranking especially for some highly competitive keywords. You can’t even imagine what effect can Yahoo Answers provide to the traffic of your site. Don’t wait and learn more about this at http://yanswertraffic.com/

Leave a Reply

