Birthday Goodies

Last night, I  attended  a b-day dinner worth blogging about: ALL YOU CAN EAT SUSHI.  

I know, my life is tough.

I feasted on vegan maki etc.. and it was pretty great.  For the occasion at hand, I decided to give the bday girl an edible prezzie.

My friends and family all chipped in last year and made my nerdiest food dream come true- they bought me an Excalibur dehydrator. 

Most of the time, when the fact that I actually own one of these comes up in conversation I immediately get requests for beef jerky.

Really?  Jerky?

I use mine in what I’d like to think are slightly more creative and unconventional ways.  

However, for bday celebrations I like to stick to the crowd pleasers.  I made the bday girl some dried fruit:

Dried fruit is definately not as exciting to me as fresh fruit, but it is a novelty and can really hit the spot when the mood is right. 

There was some mango action

Some blueberries

Kiwi

And some rather disappointing pineapple.  

Dried pineapple is my absolute fav, but these particular pineapples were not sweet at all. Boo!  They were slightly better after drying, but did not represent themselves well at all. 

Excalibur- all packed and ready to go.

I also did a little baking.  I made two different kinds of mini cupcakes- a vanilla coconut (which I over-baked slightly) and a chocolate cinnamon (which were pretty spectacular).  Both recipe’s are from my favourite cookbook of all time, “Eat, Drink and Be Vegan” by Dreena Burton.

I adore Dreena Burton’s recipes.  She is the master- I’ve never had one of her recipes fail me.

I topped the vanilla coconut cupcakes with Dreena’s Strawberry Cream Frosting.  Then I added a Swedish Berry, you know, for looks.  

I make a full exception to my  “avoiding processed sugar” rule for birthdays.  : ) 

For the chocolate cupcakes, I wanted to get my mocha on so I invented a mocha coffee icing recipe.  It ended up reminding me of a what I imagine a caramel frappuccino might be like.  See below for recipe.

Caramel Frappuccino Icing

1/4 C pitted honey dates

1/2 C raw cashews

1/4 C strong brewed coffee (chilled is best)

1/4 C agave

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp vanilla

Blend like crazy, until the icing is completely smooth.  It requires some time in the fridge to set before icing.   I left mine overnight, but I’m sure a couple of hours would do it.

Here’s a pic of the completed cupcake feast:

The “cherry” on the mocha cupcakes were chocolate covered coffee beans.  

Sigh.

I wish there was a good reason to make these everyday. 

I’m signing out for the day.  I’ve got a lunch date at a restaurant I can’t wait to blog about, and then I’m off to a going away party at Sister B’s place.

Have a good Sunday!

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

