Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops

I’ve been going through a bit of drought, financially speaking, for a few months now.  I’m about to be the sole income earner in our humble abode. In September I’ll be supporting my better half T, as he hauls his 35-year-old buns back to school to get his teaching degree (hooray!). We are also saving for a wedding in December (hooray again!).  And continuing to pay off my student debt- almost a half a decade later (boo!).  We’re also still in recovery mode after the whole “economic crisis” thing left many people (T included) unemployed for certain periods of time (boo, hiss!).

As a result of my financial short-comings, I’ve learned to cut back on certain luxury products (ahem, $7.00 pints of vegan coconut icecream), and make do by, well, making them myself. 

You know what they say, when life gives you lemons overripe bananas-make lemondade homemade banana pops!

These cool little gems save me precious dollars and cents when I need a frozen treat fix.  The banana creates a creamy texture- kind of reminiscent of fudgesicles.  Only they are non-dairy and wallet-friendly. 

Here’s how to make em’: 

2 frozen bananas (unfrozen works too, but takes longer to freeze)

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

1 Tbsp maple syrup

1 cup of almond milk (or milk of choice)

Blend the ingredients together until they reach a smooth, creamy texture.  Try not to drink it (it makes a very satisfying milkshake if you succumb to temptation), and pour into frozen popsicle molds.  If you are interested, I got mine for a buck at a dollar store.  Freeze until they is done.

Makes about 4 pops. 

Right, well- that’s all for today folks.  Check back tomorrow when I will be posting the homemade goodies I’m making my friend Edie for her b-day!

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops

  1. Pingback: Frozen Chocolate Banana Pops | femagz.com

  2. Ricki says:

    I discovered homemade frozen treats when I had to change my diet and eliminate many of the ingredients in the pre-made ones–and have never looked back! I’d rather have a homemade banana pop than processed ice “cream” any day 🙂

    And thanks so much for your kind comment on my blog–it’s so nice to hear that people enjoy the recipes, and you made my weekend! 😀

  3. I make frozen pops quiet a bit but love this idea of cocoa powder with bananas and my favorite, almond milk. Bet they would be great with cocoa nibs added for crunch and coated in wheat germ…..thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

