Friday Favourites 2

It’s Friday again!

Time for me to highlight some of my favourite snacks.  This week I’m going to show you two products I buy regularly when I’m craving something sweet.

I love to hate processed sugar.  Which basically means that I have a huge sweet tooth, but I try to keep away from the white stuff as much as possible.  In my never-ending quest to find really yummy sweet foods made with natural ingredients, I’ve been fortunate enough to stumble upon the two products that I’m going to introduce you to this week.

First up-chocolate amaranth bars.

They sound kind of strange, but they are really addicting.  The best part is that they are made from amaranth- a protein-packed super grain. My sister B is the biggest choc-o-holic I know, is not vegan or vegetarian, and even she approves.  They’ve got a super simple ingredient list: toasted amaranth, cocoa powder, coconut oil, vanilla.  I love it.  They are sweet, crispy little chocolate squares that melt in your mouth. I can’t believe these things are actually nutritious (and gluten-free too!).

I saved the best for last- macaroons from Olivia’s Kitchen.

I am a macaroon nut. I have tried tons of different varieties of macaroons, but none of them even come close to the ones that Olivia makes in her kitchen.  Luckily for me, she lists her ingredients:

Unfortunately, she has some kind of secret magic powers that I don’t know about, because I have tried to recreate these cookies about a half a dozen times to no avail.

Don’t mess with perfection, Jill.

I highly recommend giving both of these fine products a try.  They are available at Panacea– the best vegan health food store in Toronto.

That’s my tips for vegan snacks for the week.

What are some of your favourite sweets?

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

