Opps I Did it Again

Ever done this?

Shake a bag of spice over a stir-fry with one hand while daydreaming about something else (perhaps pants you tried on yesterday, but couldn’t afford to buy), only to end up spilling about 100 times more spice than you meant to add?

And after you realize the tragic mistake, maybe you, like me, did this:

Picked out as much of the spice as possible, while swearing loudly and contemplating take-out.

That was the kind of night I was having in the kitchen.  It started out fairly normal. I decided to do the old, “throw whatever vegetable is left-over in the fridge in a stir-fry”  trick.

In my fridge I found half a zucchini, 8 cherry tomatoes, half a red onion, 1 clove of garlic, fresh ginger and a giant stack of mystery collards.  I can’t remember buying the greens but know it was me since T wouldn’t even recognize collards, let alone decide to purchase them.  I think it was probably one of those purchases I blacked-out due to excitement from being at the Dufferin Grove Farmer’s Market (best farmers market ever- more on that later).

Anyways, where was I?  Oh yes, I decided to throw together a stir-fry to use up the mystery collards when I accidentally dumped a quarter of a bag of chili powder into my pan! After picking out the larger clumps and attempting to salvage what I could, the result was…..

accidentally delicious actually!  So much so, that I am sharing my wildly estimated recipe with you right now:

Accidental Chili Spiced Collard Stir-fry

Ingredients

1 bunch collards, de-stemmed and cut into smaller pieces

1/2 red onion
1 garlic clove
1 T fresh ginger, grated
1/2 large zucchini
Large handful of cherry tomatoes, diced
1 tsp cumin
1 Tbsp sake (or other cooking wine)
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp tamari
2? heaping Tbsp of chili powder (wild estimate)
1 tsp agave (or other sweetener)
Juice from 1/2 lime (to taste)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions
1. Heat oil in pan over medium heat (I love my Earthware wok).  Add onion, garlic and ginger and fry until the onion is softened.

2. Add zucchini, tomatoes, tamari, cumin, and chili powder (spoons are a good idea here) and continue to fry until the veggies are softened slightly.

3. Add collards and stir until they begin to wilt. Then add the sake and agave.  Cook for 1-2 more mins and you’re ready to go.

4. Serve in a bowl with rice or quinoa, add salt and pepper to taste and squeeze some lime juice on top.

Mmmmmmmmmm.  I can’t believe this didn’t taste bad.

And there you have it.  We all make mistakes.  But every once in a while we get lucky and make tasty ones.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

