Lunch Break

I spent today sampling the vegan offerings at “Taste of the Danforth”, Toronto’s biggest food festival celebrating all things Greek.  My cousin was in town from Halifax and in all of the excitement that goes along with reunions, I forgot my camera. 😦  Which means that I have no pics to share with you tonight.

I am a terrible blogger.  

But I had a great day!  Not super impressed with the food selection, but I did score myself a pretty delicious vegan oatmeal cookie from The Big Carrot.  I love that place, and I never go!  Must return again soon.

Since I failed to take any new foodie photos today, I had to go back through my files looking for inspiration for tonight’s post.  And luckily for us all, I found it!

Last Week’s Lunch! (Well one of them anyway.).  

I had some left-over grilled tempeh in my fridge and a very ripe avocado that was begging to be eaten, so I whipped up a very healthy version of tacos.  I think they are more appropriately described as salad tacos since I was lacking a corn tortilla and used a lettuce wrap instead. I love corn tortillas, but I have to say that sometimes I think I prefer lettuce wraps- they are so crisp and refreshing.  It might must be a summer humidity thing. 

Tempeh Salad Taco’s

Ingredients

-Full washed and dried romaine leaves (1 per taco)

-Strips of marinated and grilled tempeh (1-2 per taco)

-Red onion to taste

-1/2-1 Avocado (depending on how many taco’s you want to make)

 -1 T salsa per taco

-Cucumber to taste

-Tomato to taste

-Juice of 1 lime

-Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

1. Mash the avocado in a bowl and add fresh lime juice to make a quick guacomole.  Add some salt and pepper- do not skip the salt here, it really brings out the flavours in the guac.

2. Dice tomatoes, cucumbers and red onion and set aside

3. Wash 3-4 romaine leaves per person, leaving them whole

4. Spoon about 1 T salsa onto each lettuce leaf.

 

5. Top with tempeh, veggies and guacomole

6. Eat those puppies up!

So fast and delish. 

Not to mention a great use of left-over tempeh!  

Have a great night everybody.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunch Break

  1. Jess Toombs says:

    I meant to take a picture of me eating your burger-gifts to me at work, but I’m afraid I remembered AFTER I ate one of them atop greens. Your culinary skills, once again, made my day better!!

  2. These look yum! I’m jealous….I know the food isn’t amazing but the food fest is fun nonetheless

Leave a Reply

