Scuffins by Oh She Glows

Today, I’d like to highlight an exciting new trend that’s been making appearances all around the food blog community- scuffins. 

Scuffins?  

Angela, founder of Glo Bakery and creator of Oh She Glows has done it again. I’ve been a fan of hers for quite some time, so it’s nice to finally have a suitable forum to give her much deserved props.

According to Angela, a scuffin is exactly what it sounds like: half scone and half muffin.  Remember that Seinfeld episode where George wants to market muffin tops?  Well, I’m pretty sure this is what he had in mind:

I highly recommend checking out Angela’s versions (carrot cake and chia pumpkin).  

I changed a few things around in Angela’s recipe, because I wanted blueberry scuffins.  I’ve adored blueberry muffins since the days of Tim Horton Drive Thru’s when I was a kid and am always looking for healthier versions.  My changes to the original recipe are noted below in italics. I’ve made 4 batches of these already- my family, T and I literally devour them straight from the oven.   

Healthy Carrot Power Scuffins (from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole grain spelt flour

1/2 tsp baking power

1/4 tsp fine grain sea salt

1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice (OR: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger)  I omitted this

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil   coconut oil

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1 tsp tbsp pure vanilla extract

Flax egg: 1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, mixed and set aside for 5 mins

1/2 cup regular oats

1 cup shredded or grated carrots (approx 2 medium) 1 cup blueberries

1/4 cup raisins 1/2 cup apple sauce

1/4 cup toasted, chopped walnuts

Coconut, for garnish (I skipped this)

1. Make the flax egg and set aside

2. Pre-heat oven to 350.  Combine all dry ingredients and mix.

3. Combine all wet ingredients in  a separate bowl and mix. 

4. Add wet ingredients to dry, mix until just combined.

5. Fold in blueberries

6. Scoop batter onto a prepared cookie sheet (I used parchment paper)

7. Bake for 20-25 mins.  The recipe should make 6 large scuffins.

Thanks Angela for introducing us to this latest baking sensation!  Now I’m off to eat the last scuffin of my own.

 Have a nice Saturday everyone!

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scuffins by Oh She Glows

  1. Pingback: Organize My Kitchen — Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

