Friday Favourites

Friday is everyone’s favourite day.  So I thought I’d take an opportunity to share a couple favourites of my own.  

Let’s start with the crack:

These crackers were love at first crunch.  They come in a variety of flavours like Black Pepper, Herb, Caraway and Onion.  They are all super tasty.  I think I’m partial to the Black Pepper- by the slimmest of margins.  They’re pretty mainstream and beloved right now, so luckily for you they are found in most major grocery stores.  I got the jumbo box pictured above at COSTCO!  

Here is my ode to Mary’s Crackers.  Beyond being totally yummy, they are:

  • wheat-free
  • gluten-free
  • soy-free
  • vegan
  • organic
  • super “clean” (no unnecessary additives or sweetners)
  • contain minimal ingredients

I recommend:

  • dipping them in hummus, salsa or guacamole
  • topping them with avocado and tomato slices, with S & P
  • spreading veggie or nut pates on them
  • crumbling them on salads for a healthy alternative to croutons

If you haven’t yet crunched on some Mary’s, you are missing out. 

Oh no- look what I see!  

It’s my new most favourit-est hummus of all.  Let me tell you about Wildwood.  They are a rad company dedicated to sustainable agriculture that produce sprouted, organic soy products (e.g., tofu, tempeh, soy creamer etc…).  I love how they spend money on researching ingredients and how they value food in its purest, most natural form (with no additives, sweeteners or preservatives).  I try not to go overboard on (unfermented) soy these days, but when I spied their hummus selection, they pretty much had me with one word: probiotics. 

That’s right my fellow probiotic-starved vegan friends.  You can eat your garbanzo’s and host a little live microorganism party in your stomach all at the same time.  

Wildwood– I heart you. 

There are several varieties of this hummus on the shelves of my local health food store, but I love the Low Fat Original so much, I haven’t been able to bring myself to buy anything else.  

As for taste- well, I’m not going to lie.  It’s got a certain fermented note going on, but in a very good way.  I would go as far as saying exceptional even.  It’s super creamy, and an altogether great hummus option for those too lazy busy to make their own.

The grand finale:

Why not enjoy these two fav’s together, like yours truly did today at lunch?  Behold a gi-normous spinach salad topped with Mary’s Crackers and a big ol blob of Wildwood hummus.  

You’re welcome.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Product Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Favourites

  1. Amber says:

    Geez I looooooooooooove Mary’s crackers. They sell it at Costco? I should gets me some. I can almost hear the sound of the crunch in my ears. I feel like I’m in a commercial when I crunch it.

Leave a Reply

