Curried Fig and Chickpea Salad

I’ve been a little obsessed with creating pates and spreads lately.  I like scooping them onto salads.  I suppose I shall call them “salad scoops” from here on in.  In my quest for a new scoopable creation, I was inspired by this dressing recipe by the cupcake punk. But, of course I was missing some of the key ingredients so I rearranged the recipe based on what I had on hand at the time.  It turned into a vegan take on what I imagine is sort of a chicken salad, using chickpeas as the base.  I served it over a big pile of kale leaves, and it really hit the spot.  Here is a picture of my feast:

Curried Fig Dressing (modified from the cupcake punk)

1/2 C raw cashews

1/2 C water

5 or 6 soaked figs

2 tsp rice vinegar

1 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp garam masala

1 T tahini

1 tsp olive oil

more water to thin

I blended up the dressing in my best friend (aka my Vitamix) until it was thick and creamy.

Curried Fig and Chickpea Salad Scoop 

Then I processed about 2 C of chickpeas just until chunky, added some salt and pepper and stirred in about 1/2 of the dressing.  I diced some carrots and red onion and added them to the mix, creating the faux chicken salad.

I added the rest of the dressing to a big bunch of kale and massaged it until the leaves were softened.  Then I put it altogether and had a party in my mouth. 🙂

I hope you try it our for yourself!  And go take a look at the cupcake punk’s site.  I think she’s changing things up, but she’s worth following through the blogosphere!  Happy snacking today.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

