A New Day, A New Pate

Hello blog readers,

So it’s August 2nd, and the long weekend is coming to a close.  I spent my long weekend helping my mom sell furniture in a moving sale. There was a lot of sitting around on couches in driveways, eating chips and candy.  The experience reminded me that I’ve been wanting to kick some bad habits that have developed this summer- drinking wine every night, for example.  I’ve also been hitting the candy and chocolate aisle pretty heavily.  

I woke up this morning feeling like all I wanted to do was crawl back under the sheets and stay there indefinately.  I figure the copious amounts of alcohol and junk I’ve been consuming lately are finally catching up to me.  So, I decided there is no day like the present to go on a bit of a detox.  Nothing too intense, but if I don’t make it official it won’t happen.  So here on my new (unread as of now) blog, I’m declaring August detox month.  I have two main objectives:

1. No more processed sugar.  I’m cutting myself off cold turkey. 

2. Attempt to limit alcohol consumption to weekends and special occasions only (I’m leaving some flexibility- it is summer vacation after-all). 

In honour of August detox month, I decided to create something delish to snack on today.  I had somewhat slim pickings in the fridge, but settled on a pate of sorts.  It ended up being pretty yummy.

Carrotini Dill Pate 

3 carrots

1/2 zucchini

3 T fresh dill

1 T tahini

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1/2 tsp salt (or more to taste)

2 T capers

Process all ingredients in a food processor like so:

Sorry about the dark photo- the lighting in my kitchen leaves something to be desired. 

I scooped my tasty pate into a bowl for a snack attack later.  I’ll probably eat it with Mary’s Crackers.  They are almost as addicting as candy. 

I recommend making this if you are ever in the mood for something dilly that isn’t a pickle. Enjoy!


About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

