I wanted crack- so I made some

Remember these?

Due to new budgetary restraints, I’m trying to avoid them.

But they really are addictive little cracks.

And they do taste so yummy dipped in hummus.

But I simply cannot fund this addiction anymore, at least not on a regular basis.

So I am was trying to avoid them.

And then it dawned on me- when life cuts off the crack supply, it’s not quitting time.  Oh no- it’s time to figure out how to make your own supply!

I turned to an all-powerful source that I knew wouldn’t disappoint- Ricki.  And she hooked me up! Looks like I’m not the only one with this problem.  If you are also suffering from a similar addiction to Mary’s crack, then I encourage you to check out Ricki’s recipe here.  Because it might just be better than the original.

Feast your fiend-like eyes on what just occurred in my kitchen.

I selected the highest quality ingredients.

And blended them up.

I experimented with shapes and sizes to compare.

Thin sticks, thick sticks and squares.

The thin sticks won by a landslide, and were promptly gobbled up by T at a record pace.  In fact, there may have just been a small enormous fight about the sudden disappearance of said sticks.

Word to the wise- never interfere with an addict and her supply.

I digress.

Now that I know how to make Mary’s crack myself, you better believe I’m going to be crunching away on a daily basis.

Want to join me?

Go get your own crack here.

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wanted crack- so I made some

  1. Ricki says:

    Glad you liked the recipe (though I guess I’m a pretty lame supplier to give away my secrets!). Your sticks & twigs look great–and I’ve never even tried making it into crackers. Next on the agenda! :)

  2. Pingback: Diet, Dessert and Dogs » Three Meals plus Snacks: Breakfast Ebook, Lunch Meetup, Dinner(time) TV Gig, and DDD in Your Kitchen

  3. Saveur says:

    I am addicted to Mary’s Crackers, too, and had Ricki’s recipe bookmarked. Gotta go dust it off! Glad to hear they were equally as yummy as the original. :)

  4. Catherine says:

    I have these in the oven right now… Looks like we used the same rice?? I did not have brown rice but the purple black Thai stuff so used that. I managed to do it all in a food processor too :)
    I just hope they don’t taste too bland?? I don’t like curry powder much so used 1/2 the amount.
    I’m so excited though – I LOVE crack ;)

    • madebyjill says:

      Oh, how exciting. I did use the Thai purple rice, and they turned out great. I actually haven’t tried them with regular brown rice yet, but I plan to. I was brainstorming some different flavour ideas for these, because even though I love curry, it’s good to change it up. Here’s what I can think of, off the top of my head:
      – salt and black pepper
      -pizza (tomato paste, garlic, salt and oregano)
      -tomato basil
      -chili and spice

      I hope your crack turns out, and thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

