Lovely Sunday Salad

Lately T and I have decided to keep a more careful eye on our budgeting.  For me this means reducing my impulse food buying and trying to make use of what I already have in the house. I am the queen of giving in to my id- when I have a craving I usually indulge.  We’ve figured out that the random chocolates, protein bars, bottles of kombucha etc… are really adding up.  And we are flat broke, so who do we think we are buying gourmet treats on a daily basis?  Yesterday I spent $3.00 on a bag of apple chips!  And I have apples in the fridge and a dehydrator in the kitchen.  Enough is enough.

In the spirit of working with what is on hand, I decided to piece together a salad for lunch today composed of ingredients I actually had.  In my fridge I found: leftover cooked quinoa, a butternut squash from our food box, oranges and romaine.  Not too shabby.  So I threw it all together- and the result was magnificent!  Here’s what transpired:

First I washed and chopped the romaine, then divided it into 2 bowls:

Next, I sliced 1/2 of a butternut squash into rounds and roasted them in the oven.  I did this without adding herbs and oil, but these would be delicious additions.  I don’t know what I was thinking.

While the squash was roasting, I whipped up an orange sesame dressing- I got the recipe from my newest cookbook obsession, “Appetite for Reduction”.  It was easy-peasy, but a tad too spicy.  I’d reduce the spice next time, by 1/2 tsp.

When the squash was done, I cut it into bite-sized pieces and added it to the quinoa. I poured 1/2 C of the dressing into the bowl and mixed it all up, adding some salt and pepper for seasoning.

Finally, I added a huge scoop of the quinoa and squash mixture  to the bowls of romaine, drizzled a little extra dressing and went looking for a splash of colour for a garnish.  The salad was screaming for some dried cranberries, but I was all out. Instead, I found some pomegranate seeds lurking in the fridge, which really added a nice extra burst of flavour and colour.

It looked gor-ge-ous!  Almost too purdy to eat.  But not quite.  T and I both really loved this.  In fact, T said it was better than our fave Sunday brunch salad from Hibiscus.  I don’t think so T, but it did hold it’s own.

I’m starting to think this whole, using what’s on hand, may end up being much more fun than I originally thought. :)

About madebyjill

I'm a vegan foodie who lives in the kitchen. I like to blog about what I make because it's fun to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovely Sunday Salad

  1. Norg says:

    Dr. Wolfgang Ritschel art show is really thought provoking. I really admire the arts done by him. Looking forward for another exhibition like this.

Leave a Reply

